Language of Fire

A new day has dawned and I am mostly over being grumpy. Not completely though. I’ve never been much of a morning person! Heroes come in all shapes and sizes. The title of this post is the name of a piece of music and is in reference to a great segment I watched on Dateline about Iranian musician, Shajarian, which you can watch online here if you are interested. I don’t get moved and inspired by people that often, but he impressed me with his passion for his people, his views and, most of all, his courage.
 
 
Hmm, I have been reconsidering my bad attitude towards mornings. These photos are memories of a beautiful morning. I tend to be more of a fan of sunsets, but when a sunrise is good, it is hard to beat – the astounding fact that is the start of a new day.
 
 
A sea of clouds at Taishan.
 
 
I wasn’t the only person crazy enough to get up at around 5 in the morning to witness daybreak. Some of these guys actually climbed the mountain in the middle of the night, or slept at the peak. The collective gasp as the sun rose was extremely cool.
 
 
If you keep your eyes wide open, this world often throws some spectacular things at you which can stamp awe and joy in your heart. When you are willing to let it. For the nitty gritty about the trip to Taishan, check it out on my travelpod here. This week I have been writing about a trip I took to Jeju (in Korea) in 2006, which so far has included a lot of wierd stuff about bikinis, tubes and poo-brown gloopy noodles. I know that last bit was wince-worthy, but the noodles were amazingly good, although I’m not sure what was in them. Anyway, the Jeju stuff is here.
 
Leave a Reply

